Some tips needed please

Post here if you have been practising for a while, and you are starting to get your head around what this is all about. Also post here if you are a long-term practitioner with something to say about the practice.
James123

Fri Jul 03, 2015 1:27 pm  

I just realised this morning that I have been practising mindfulness for nearly 3 years now and after falling off the wagon yet again *rolls eyes* I am still viewing the formal meditating side of the practice as a chore, rather than a gift to myself.

Often during the day I say to myself "bugger, I still haven't mediated yet" and then it becomes forced and another thing on my to do list. The silly thing is most times after I finished I feel good/grounded and again think to myself "James, if you feel centred like this, what's up with this constant struggle with my practice? What is it you're not 'getting'?"

So, do any of you guys have any tips on how to view the formal practice as an important part of my day rather than a chore?

EDIT: After the above realisation I'm trying not to be hard on myself. But bloody hell, you'd have thought after nearly 3 years I'd be meditating without seeing it as a to do item for 30 minutes every day at more often that not, a set time. Rather than listening to a JKZ 10 minute guided meditation as I just have whilst clambering back on the wagon again.

mostlymindfulmommy

Fri Jul 03, 2015 1:58 pm  

At least from my own experience, I don't think a formal sitting practice will ever be that simple (easy to do, at the same time each day with no mental resistance).