chronic anxiety

Post here if you are just starting out with your mindfulness practice. Mindfulness is a really difficult concept to get your head around at first, and it might be that you would benefit from some help from others.
yardenmodan

Mon Dec 23, 2019 4:26 am  

Hi everybody,
For a long time now I have been suffering from ongoing anxiety. I have a really weird anxiety where I'm scared people would tell me I look sad/depressed/bothered. (i know how strange this is sound for most of you, but that is what anxiety is all about- irrational thoughts).
I can't remeber how or when this thought came to my life, but i estimate it has been in my life for several years now, there are times in which the anxiety is getting stronger and vice versa.
As for now the anxiety ruins my life in countless ways: Im avoiding social gatherings, Im too worried of my future, i'm a student and i tend to bother myself with my fears rather than focusing on studies. That thing got worse as i took off my medications ( honestly, i became tired of them because I already reached the maximum dose and still had anxiety )
I think the main issue with the anxiety is that it affects my emotions and the physical feelings become more tangible e.g. I become more and more aware of my facial experssions (heavy eyelids, trembling lips , serious droopy face especially in social places) which make the anxiety look more real and there goes the vicious cycle- I believe the anxiety.
I'm using Headspace (on and off though) for meditating and to quiet my thoughts.
But even as i meditate I feel strong pressure in my chest and belly ,sweating or trembling, rapid heart rate(etc..). and so it becomes very hard to let go of rumination because im afraid it will always be like that and i want to solve it for once and for all.
How can i handle my anxiety and what should i do regarding meditation?

Thanks

Peter
Site Admin
Practice Mindfulness Since: 19 Aug 2013

Mon Dec 23, 2019 7:59 am