New to mindfulness, is what I'm doing ok?

Post here if you are just starting out with your mindfulness practice. Mindfulness is a really difficult concept to get your head around at first, and it might be that you would benefit from some help from others.
overcomingms

Tue Oct 21, 2014 9:06 pm  

hi folks, I have been meditating for a while but not really got much from it. I have now started mindfulness meditation following mark Williams CD that I have downloaded from iTunes. I am currently mindfully observing my breathing and when I go for a walk I feel the ground through my feet and observe the feel and e sounds around me. I have to say I have been doing this for just over two weeks and there seems to be glimmers of change. I have always been a worrier and I now have MS. I am following overcoming MS programme and doing really well. I have changed my diet and I exercise daily. I have been doing this for a couple of years and now meditation is the last peice of the puzzle. Money is really tight and I can't really afford to do a mindfulness course. Can anyone tell me - am I following the right lines? I would really appreciate any feedback.

Take care All

Phil

paulpsych

Wed Oct 22, 2014 12:58 pm  

Hi Phil
It sounds like you are making an excellent start, and it's good that you are already seeing the benefits. There are loads of books if you want to do some reading and loads of resources on-line. The thing to remember is to keep at it, as at times it feels like everything is going great and at other times you may wonder what the hell you're doing!
Kind regards, Paul

piedwagtail91
Practice Mindfulness Since: 0- 3-2011

Wed Oct 22, 2014 1:18 pm  

sounds fine.
check out with your local nhs , some run pretty good mindfulness courses for free.

Gareth
Site Admin

Wed Oct 22, 2014 1:39 pm