Hi all

Please post your mindfulness stories here and your story might also feature on our blog (with your permission). You can also introduce yourself here. We want to create a library of mindful journeys and experiences.
Bils42

Mon Jun 03, 2013 10:59 am  

I've already posted a few times on this forum but thought I'd introduce myself properly

My name is Phil, but most of my friends call me Bils and I am 46yrs old. I live in Swansea, Wales with my wife and have a 16yr old daughter from a previous relationship. My wife is an artist, Katie Allen, and I am currently working part time as her assistant. I came to mindfulness meditation 4 months ago as a part of my recovery from CFS (chronic fatigue syndrome) which I have had for 4 years. The recovery program I am using is the 'Gupta Amygdala Retraining Program' and I'd recommend it to anyone who is suffering from CFS/ME.

Although I am relatively new to mindfulness I have a long background in practices that I like to call Internal Arts, so the concepts were relatively easy for me to grasp. I started with Transendental meditation in '93 which I learned while traveling in India. After returning to the UK I started learning Yang style Taijiquan and then Daoyin Yangsheng Gong with Chanquanshu school of Daoist Arts. The principle instructor for this school is Gordon Falkner in Inverness Scotland. About 8 yrs ago I started practicing Chen Hsin which is very much focused on relationship skills in a martial context and is a lot of fun to practice. A few years ago Gordon introduced me to Wudang style Taijiquan and I took to it immediately and am now practicing this style exclusively. I am also a very keen mountain biker and I must say that this was my main training priority at this time.